Report a problem

Review — 16

Existing problems reported with 16

  • I think this review is also on the wrong route. It mentions going on Bowen Drive and past Kingswood House and they are both on WesCry 2 but not here. It's a bit confusing, especially as the writer then discusses a whole load of other roads/places, some of which might actually be on WesCry 1. I saw there is a flag on one of the reviews, so perhaps someone already noticed and adding the flag was the workaround to stop it counting. Reported 16 Sep 2023
  • I'm looking at more of the slowways around Braintree. This route leaves Braintree at Galleys Corner towards Coggeshall on a road called Long Green, which further on becomes Ashes Road. This is a fast 50mph road with no pavement and no verges. It is too dangerous for walkers to use, plus it requires they try to cross the horrible dual lane exits from the Galleys Corner roundabout to even reach it. I'll mark out and upload an alternative route for Bracog. Kind regards, David Reported 16 Jan 2024
  • Hi, I reviewed a route (Levsto one) and indicated that it needed to be removed, as it passed through a high metal fence. I set up an alternative route (Levsto 2). I am a bit puzzled why Levsto 1 has been marked as ‘possibly verified’. Surely it could be marked as having a problem, or it even could be removed? Would it require another negative review before being removed? There is a similar issue with Stoden 1 and 2. I would survey routes if they had been verified. Thanks, Ian Vaughan Reported 25 Sep 2021
  • I took a walk which shared part of this route on 16 July and encountered the following mapping issue which I have reported to Ordnance Survey. The SlowWays route inherits this issue from OS mapping, so those surveying the route should consider this. OS Landranger and Explorer maps indicate a public footpath running east-west along the northern side of buildings at Upper Hardacre, between SD 71594 68527 and SD 71407 68569. This contradicts rights of way mapping on the North Yorkshire County Council website, which shows the right of way running along the track around the southern side of the farm buildings. The latter position was reflected by the farm resident when I walked through the farm yesterday as a footpath user - she advised me that there had never been a public path around the north side of the buildings. Reported 21 Jul 2021
  • I walked part of the Wooler to Alnwick route today from Wooler to Eglingham and will complete the route soon and post a review (the part walked today was a fantastic). However there is a problem with the route from Berwick Folly (Way Point 269, map ref 067227) to where the route joins with a bridleway at WayPoint 300, map ref 079221. The route between these points is drawn as a straight line, but it does not follow any footpath or other right of way and it is not over access land for most of the way. I had noted that this part of the route was odd when I reviewed it on an OS map before setting off but assumed that Berwick Folly was an unoccupied derelict property and the route followed an ancient unused byway. However Berwick Folly is a farmhouse with outbuildings converted into very expensive/exclusive looking cottages. The route shown starts by crossing a large very neatly tended private lawn and then into an arable field. We spoke to a charming and helpful resident who told us there had never been any sort of pathway on the SlowWays route and the farmer did not like walkers on even legitimate rights of way over his land! We did find a route sticking to public rights of way until we were into the Access Land and then cutting across to rejoin the SlowWays route which added minimal distance to the walk. I can send you the details of the route I took by email attachment if this would be helpful. Rick Sweeney Reported 15 Jun 2021
  • This is a follow-up to your previous request #846 "Problem with a General: Site" Hi Christie I have tried to report two bugs/errors for a few days but keep getting Error 500, so I am trying emailing them. First A few of days ago, I accidentally clicked a second time to submit my review of Prebam Two, which I had created, when the first submission didn't show up quickly. My review is now duplicated, so please could you remove one of them. Second My Waylist map is showing Barrhead to Thorniebank (Bartho) which I didn’t add, and have never even viewed. When I click that route, and View Route Details, it takes me to Preley Two. Beneath my review is Other Routes for Barrhead—Thornliebank. Thanks Mary Oz (Austin) Reported 19 Feb 2022
  • This route appears to take in the A17. The A17 is a major trunk road used by HGV with no footpath and in my opinion it is too dangerous to walk along Reported 12 Aug 2023
  • I submitted this route myself but having tried to walk it yesterday, it is currently impassable due to the HS2 works having blocked one of the footpaths for three years with no diversion in place. I will upload the alternative route I walked yesterday. Reported 13 Nov 2022
  • Part of this route would involve walking along the B2068 past Farthing Common Plant Centre. This is a fast road with no footpath, of which I would not recommend walking along. Reported 28 Apr 2021
  • This route is impossible to follow. It goes across gardens and school grounds in urban areas. I think there is a problem with the GPS and it was shifted to the south or something similar. I have submitted an alternative route which is followable, and I think is better than the original intention as it spends more time in Foots Cray Meadows. I know the area a little and it is a public park/reserve of sorts. There are many paths maintained by Bexley Council beyond the PRoW shown on OS maps, and luckily these are on OSM. Reported 21 Jun 2022
  • The plotted route shows a line following the old railway line from Heacham sewage works through the Ken Hill Estate. This is a conservation area with restricted access. It is not a public footpath. Reported 10 Oct 2022
  • I have downloaded and printed the survey forms and completed them by hand. How to I send these to you. There are supplementary documents on an error in the route. I was hoping to scan these and send them as a pdf, but cannot find such a facility on the slow ways website. Ken Perrett Reported 30 Apr 2021

Spotted a problem on the website? Let us know by completing this form and we’ll look into it.

(You are reporting a problem with the Review 16)